Betrayal of the Guardian™ Frequently Asked Questions

Updated February 15%, 2013
Compiled by Jennifer Dery, with contributions from Matthew Del Buono, David DeLaney and Nathaniel
Yamaguchi.

This set is legal for sanctioned Constructed play from February 22nd, 2013.

1. New keyword powers
e Absorb is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:

When this character deals combat damage to a hero, it heals that much damage from your
hero.

o Multiple instances of Absorb on a single character are cumulative. If a character with
three instances of Absorb deals combat damage to a hero, it will generate three
triggered effects that each heal its controller’s hero for the amount of damage dealt.

o Echo is a keyword power that cards can have. [t means:

When you play this ability, if you control two or more allies that share a [Horde] or [Alliance]
race, you may copy this ability.

o The Horde and Alliance races are: Blood Elf, Draenei, Dwarf, Gnome, Goblin, Human,
Night Elf, Orc, Tauren, Troll, Undead, and Worgen. No other tag is a Horde or Alliance
Race.

o This is a double-check power. It will not trigger if you do not control two allies that
share a Horde or Alliance race, and if you no longer control two allies that share a race
when it resolves, it will do nothing.

o You may choose new targets for the copy. Any other choices made for the original are
copied.

o Riftis a keyword power that cards can have. It means:

Choose a [Horde] or [Alliance] race. You pay (1) less to play this card for each ally you control
of the chosen race.

o The Horde and Alliance races are: Blood Elf, Draenei, Dwarf, Ghome, Goblin, Human,
Night Elf, Orc, Tauren, Troll, Undead, and Worgen. No other tag is a Horde or Alliance
Race.

o The choice is made during the steps of adding a link to the chain. First, choose a race,
then count the number of allies of that race you control to determine the total cost

reduction.

o Riftis cumulative with other cost reductions.
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2. Returning keyword powers

e Bloodrush is a tag word that cards can have. It can denote double-check triggered powers
that trigger while an opposing hero has more damage than your hero. It can also denote
continuous powers that are only active while an opposing hero has more damage than your
hero.

o Atriggered Bloodrush power will only trigger if an opposing hero has more damage
than your hero at the time it would trigger. If, on resolution, an opposing hero does not
have more damage than your hero, it will do nothing.

o Inamultiplayer game, triggered Bloodrush powers will trigger and continuous
Bloodrush powers are active as long as any one opponent’s hero has more damage than
yours, regardless of what opponent would be affected by those powers.

o Haste X is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:

You pay X less to play this card if an ally you control dealt damage to an opposing hero this
turn.

o Multiple instances of Haste are cumulative. If an ally has Haste 1 and Haste 2, it costs 3
less to play if an ally you control dealt combat damage to an opposing hero this turn.

o Haste does not change the cost of a card.
o Spellshield is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:
This card can’t be targeted by opponents.

o Tribe is a tag word that cards can have. It denotes powers that trigger when a Tauren ally
enters play under your control.

o Ifa continuous modifier causes an ally entering play under your control to become a
Tauren, or adds Tauren to its types, it does so in time for any Tribe powers already in
play to trigger.

e Unity is a tag word that cards can have. It can denote double-check triggered powers that
trigger while you control three or more Human allies. It can also denote continuous powers
that are only active while you control three or more Human allies.

o Atriggered Unity power will only trigger if you control three or more Human allies at
the time it would trigger. If, on resolution, you no longer control at least three Human
allies, it will do nothing.

3. Returning concepts
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e Basicis a label that appears on some powers, and on the type line of non-Instant abilities. It
means “Play this card/Use this power only during your non-combat Action Phase while the
chain is empty.”

4. Timewalkers block heroes

e Betrayal of the Guardian features the heroes of the Timewalker block, also found in War of
the Ancients.

e Each hero in the Timewalkers block has two powers, one on the front and one on the back.
Each hero starts the game with the front side face-up, and the power on that side active. As
a cost to use the power on the front of each hero, it is turned face-down, and the power on
the back becomes active. The power on the back of each hero can only be used once per
game.

o Once the “Once per game” power on the back of a hero has been used, it cannot be used
again in the same game, even if it is flipped face-up (and then back face down) after the
power has been used.

o Timewalkers block Monster heroes have no special deckbuilding restrictions, so normal
deckbuilding rules apply.

5. Specific Cards

Aegwynn, Guardian of Tirisfal, 8, Master Hero—Human Mage, 0 [Arcane], 32 Health

When your hero becomes Aegwynn, add three tirisfal counters to her. <p> [Activate], Remove a tirisfal
counter >>> Target ally has Elusive this turn. <p> [Activate], Remove a tirisfal counter >>> Draw a
card, then discard a card. <p> While Aegwynn has no tirisfal counters on her: [Activate] >>> Put a
token copy of each ally you control into play.

Giving an ally Elusive in response to a combat proposal will cause that proposal to be illegal
and to become interrupted on resolution. The proposed attacker will not exhaust, and may
propose a different attack. Giving an ally Elusive after a combat proposal has resolved will
not end that combat.

Atiesh, Greatstaff of the Guardian, 3, DrMaPrLo, Equipment—2H Weapon—Staff, Melee (1), 1 [Melee],
5 Strike

At the start of your turn, remove the top card of your deck from the game. <p> [Basic] [Activate] >>>
For each ally removed this way, put a 1 [Arcane] / 1 [Health] Raven Spirit ally token into play. For
each ability removed this way, your hero heals 1 damage from target hero or ally. For each equipment
removed this way, your hero deals 1 arcane damage to each opposing hero. <p> [Basic] (12), Destroy
Atiesh >>> You may play any number of cards removed this way without paying their costs.

Atiesh’s first payment power requires a target to activate, even if no abilities have been
removed from the game with its power. If that target is illegal when the link resolves, it is
interrupted by the game and nothing happens. It creates one packet of healing and one
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packet of damage regardless of the number of each card type removed from the game, so
modifiers that increase or decrease damage or healing will only apply once for each time
this power is activated.

When resolving the second payment power, cards are added to the chain one at a time,
ignoring timing restrictions, but following all other applicable rules for adding links. Quests
and locations can’t be played. The player who activated the power chooses the order those
cards are added to the chain. Since this happens while a link is resolving, no player will have
priority to take an action until after all such cards have been added to the chain. Each card
will resolve separately after all such links have been added, beginning with the card that
was added last, following normal timing rules for the resolution of links.

Critical Mass, 5, Mage, Basic Ability—Fire

Fire Talent (You can’t put Arcane Talents or Frost Talents in your deck.) <p> Reveal cards from the top
of your deck until you reveal two cards with the same cost. Your hero deals 1 fire damage to each
opposing hero and ally for each card revealed this way. Then shuffle those revealed cards into your
deck.

Any X in a cost is treated as 0. Quests and locations are considered to have a cost of zero. If
no two cards in your deck have the same cost, reveal them all, deal that much fire damage,
and shuffle your deck.

Crusade of Kings, X, Paladin, Basic Ability—Protection
This ability enters play with X crusade counters. <p> Ongoing: Allies with cost equal to the number of
crusade counters on this ability have +1 / +1 for each crusade counter.

Each Crusade of Kings in play counts only the number of counters on itself.

A Demonic Presence, Quest

Pay (2) to complete this quest. <p> Reward: An opponent chooses one: Your hero heals 2 damage
from itself; or your hero deals 2 shadow damage to that opponent's hero. If you control a Demon ally,
he must choose both.

This card has received errata. The bold text above updates the printed text.

Despair, 4, DkPaWa, Equipment—2h Weapon—Sword, Melee (1), 2 [Melee], 2 Strike

When your hero deals combat damage with this weapon to a hero, its controller reveals the top three
cards of his deck. Add a +1 ATK counter to this weapon for each revealed ally, then put all revealed
cards into their owner’s graveyard.

Only cards revealed by Despair will be put into their owner’s graveyard when it resolves.
Doom Commander Zaakuul, 5, Monster Ally—Doomguard Demon, 3 [Shadow], 6 Health

Monster Hero Required <p> When another non-token ally you control is destroyed, put a token copy of
that ally into play that is also a Demon Monster.
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The tokens put into play by Zaakuul’s power have “Demon” and “Monster” as printed ally
types, in addition to its other types, and copies of those tokens will also be Demon Monsters.

Durotan, 5, Horde, Ally—Orc Warrior, Durotan (1), 7 [Melee], 7 Health
When Durotan enters play, discard your hand. <p> Durotan can protect Draka and Thrall allies you
control.

Durotan is looking for any allies with a “Thrall” or “Draka” tag specifically. He will not be
able to protect Thrall, Warchief of the Horde or Warchief Thrall, because they do not have
the Thrall tag.

Ethereal Spellfilcher, 6, Monster Ally—Ethereal Mage, 3 [Arcane], 3 Health
When this ally enters play, gain control of target ability. If it’s attached, you may reattach it.

You may reattach that ability to any card that matches its attach description, even if that
card is Untargetable. If there’s no other legal host, that attachment stays where it is. You do
not gain control of the host.

You may only target abilities in play.

Floating Spellbook, 1, Ally—Spellbook, 0 [Arcane], 1 Health
Elusive <p> Spellshield <p> You have no maximum hand size.

Increasing or decreasing your maximum hand size while you control Floating Spellbook has
no effect. Floating Spellbook’s modifier applies in time stamp order with any modifier that
sets your maximum hand size to a specific number.

Frost Stasis, 3, Mage, Basic Ability—Frost Attachment

Attach to target opposing ally. <p> Ongoing: Attached ally can’t attack or exhaust. <p> When attached
ally is dealt damage, destroy it and put three 2 [Frost] / 1 [Health] Water Elemental ally tokens into
play.

This power triggers each time damage is dealt to the attached ally and will put tokens into
play on resolution even if that ally was destroyed by something else, such as another
instance of this trigger, or because the damage that caused it to trigger was fatal.

Greater Fleshbeast, 3, Monster Ally—Fleshbeast, 4 [Nature], 2 Health

Fleshbeast does not count as Beast.
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Khadgar, 5, Alliance, Ally—Human Mage, Khadgar (1), 7 [Arcane], 4 Health
You pay (2) less to play abilities, to a minimum of (1). <p> When you play an ability, you may ready
Khadgar.

The “to a minimum of 1” restriction applies only to this cost reduction. If multiple cost
reductions would apply to a cost, you may apply them in any order, potentially reducing the
cost of an ability to 0 while you control Khadgar.

Korah Icefang, 4, Horde, Ally—Orc Mage, 3 [Frost], 3 Health
When this ally enters play, double the ATK of target ally this turn.

Modifiers that double an ATK value are applied after all other modifiers affecting that ATK.

Lady Voltaire, 3, Alliance, Ally—Human Death Knight, 0 [Frost], 9 Health
Unity: While you control three or more Human allies, if another Human ally you control would be dealt
damage, you may have it be dealt to this ally instead.

Checks for fatal damage occur only as a player is about to receive priority, and not while a
card or effect is resolving. This means that damage that would be dealt simultaneously to
multiple Human allies you control by the same link while this Unity power is active can all
be redirected to Lady Voltaire, including multiple packets of damage that would exceed her
health. If multiple links are resolving to deal damage to Human allies you control, you will
only be able to redirect damage to Lady Voltaire until she has been dealt fatal damage by
one of those links.

Makuna Hatada, 4, Horde, Ally—Tauren Druid, 4 [Melee], 4 Health
[Basic] (5) >>> This and other allies you control have +5 ATK, Absorb, and Smash this turn.

Each time you activate this power, allies you control will gain the bonus it provides.
Additional instances of Absorb will trigger independently. Additional instances of Smash
will not have an additional effect.

Moroes, 3, Monster Ally—Risen Rogue, Moroes (1), 4 [Melee], 2 Health

Stealth <p> Spellshield <p> When Moroes deals combat damage to a defending hero, choose one of the

following at random and put it into play: <lb> 2 [Shadow] / 2 [Health] Priest Spirit Monster ally token

with Absorb. <Ib> 2 [Holy] / 2 [Health] Paladin Spirit Monster ally token with Protector. <Ib> 2 [Melee]
/ 2 [Health] Warrior Spirit Monster ally token with Ferocity.

The randomization of which type of ally to put into play occurs while the triggered effect is
resolving. No player will receive priority between the type of ally being chosen and it
entering play.
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Shade of Aran, 5, Monster Ally—Spirit Mage, Aran (1), 5 [Arcane] / 5 Health
Monster Hero Required <p> As Aran enters play and as your turn starts, you may choose another ally.
Ifyou do, Aran has all powers of the chosen ally until the start of your next turn.

Shade of Aran’s power is not a triggered power, and cannot be responded to.

Only an ally in play can be chosen. If the chosen ally leaves play, Shade keeps those powers
until the start of his controller’s next turn.

If Shade’s controller chooses an ally with an enters play triggered power as Shade is
entering play, he does so in time for that power to trigger, but any “as...enters play” powers
of the chosen ally will not be processed.

Start of turn triggers from an ally chosen as a turn starts will be gained in time to trigger on
that turn, but will be lost before they can trigger on the following turn.

Any start of turn “as” powers of the chosen ally are gained too late to be processed, and
expire before they can be processed at the start of the next turn.

Staff of Infinite Mysteries, 5, DrMaPrShLo, Equipment—2H Weapon—Staff, Melee (1), 1 [Arcane], 8
Strike

(4), [Activate], Destroy this weapon >>> Search target opponent’s deck for a card, then that opponent
names a card. If you searched for the named card, that opponent puts it into his hand. Otherwise,
remove that card from the game, and you may play that card without paying its cost.

This card has received errata. The bold text above updates the printed text.
The card you search for must be clearly indicated.

If the card you searched for is removed from the game by the Staff’s power, you must
choose whether or not to play it immediately. You will not be able to play the card at a later
time. If you choose to play the card, it is added to the chain, ignoring timing restrictions, but
following all other applicable rules for adding links. Quests and locations can’t be played.

Storm of the Ages, 2+X, Shaman, Basic Ability—Elemental

Rift (Choose a [Horde] or [Alliance] race. You pay (1) less to play this ability for each ally you control
of the chosen race.) <p> Your hero deals X nature damage divided as you choose to any number of
target heroes and/or allies.

When playing Storm of the Ages, first chose a value for X, then apply the cost reduction from
Rift. Reducing the cost does not affect the value chosen for X, and you will deal X damage
regardless of how much you end up paying.
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Terestian Illhoof, 5, Monster Ally—Satyr Demon Warlock, Terestian (1), 2 [Shadow], 6 Health

When this ally enters play, Portal (Reveal the top three cards of your deck. You may put a revealed
Demon ally with cost less than this ally’s cost into play. Put the remaining cards on the bottom of your
deck.) <p> At the end of your turn, you may destroy another Demon ally you control. If you do,
Terestian deals shadow damage to target opposing hero or ally equal to the cost of that destroyed
Demon.

If the source of the Portal trigger is destroyed before it resolved, it will use the last known
information of that card from play.

You choose the order of the cards put on the bottom of your deck.

Thane Kurdran Wildhammer, 6, Alliance, Ally—Dwarf Warrior, Kurdran (1), 3 [Nature], 7 Health
Protector <p> When Kurdran enters play, put a 0 [Nature] / 1 [Health] Egg ally token into play. <p> At
the start of your turn, target Egg ally you control becomes a 6 [Melee] / 6 [Health] Gryphon Beast
Monster ally named Sky’ree with Sky’ree (1).

You may target any Egg ally with Thane Kurdran'’s triggered powers, including Egg allies put
into play by other cards.

The modifier setting that ally’s ATK and Health will apply after all other modifiers with
earlier timestamps except modifiers that double those values, and will apply before all other
modifiers with later timestamps.

You must choose a target for the trigger, even if you already control an ally with Sky’ree (1).

The Big Bad Wolf, 7, Monster Ally—Worgen Warrior, Big Bad (1), 5 [Melee], 5 Health

When Big Bad enters play, target opposing ally can’t attack or exhaust, loses and can’t have powers,
and becomes 0 / 5 until Big Bad leaves play. Big Bad must attack that ally if able. <p> When Big Bad
deals fatal combat damage to that ally, he has +5 / +5 and Invincible.

The bonus from gobbling up Little Red Riding Hood lasts as long as The Big Bad Wolf
remains in play.

Time-Shifted Dagger, 4, DrMaPrShLo, Equipment—1H Weapon—Dagger, Melee (1), 1 [Melee], 2 Strike
When this weapon enters play, switch the ATK and [Health] of target ally this turn.

The switch takes place when the triggered power resolves. It applies in timestamp order
with all other modifiers affecting that ally’s ATK and Health except for modifiers that double
those values, which always apply last. For example, if your 2 ATK/2 Health ally has an
attachment giving him +2 / +3, when this trigger resolves, he will have 5 ATK/4 Health until
the end of the turn.

Venomous Wounds, 2, Rogue, Basic Ability—Assassination

Assassination Talent (You can’t put Combat Talents or Subtlety Talents in your deck.) <p> Ongoing: At
the end of your turn, if your hero dealt combat damage to a hero this turn, trigger each Poison you
control.
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To trigger those cards means to generate their triggered effect, immediately, ignoring their
trigger conditions. Those effects will then be added to the chain following the next set of
pre-priority checks as normal.
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